New Minnesota “Hands Free Law” Takes Affect August 1st

Several new laws will go into effect in Minnesota on the first day of August, including the much-talked about “hands-free law.” The hands-free law means if you are driving and using your phone to make calls, text, listen to music, or get directions, it has to be by voice commands or with a single touch, without holding the phone. According to data from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, 12 of the 15 states with similar laws have seen a decrease in traffic fatalities by 15 percent, a. Except for emergencies, if you are caught with your phone in your hand, it’s $50 ticket plus court fees. Then, every ticket after that is $275 plus court fees.

For more on the story, click this link to: 5 Eyewitness News.